Choosing your linux

Don’t have much experience on linux?
Don’t have much time trying out?

Well, if so, you’ll love searching for the right distribution that suits you in minutes with distribution comaparer and distribution choosers.

Distribution Comparer is a very mature comparer which provides a reasonable amount of information between each of the two distributions. It has some popular choices of distributions for you to choose from. And there’s also ratings from 1 to 10 in each categories.

Desktop Comparer can be found here.

Another mature and reliable option is to go through several questions which will work out and choose the right distribution for you. The questions are very mature and well revised. At the end, you can also explore the features of each distribution.

Distro Chooser can be found here.
Here is an alternative.

Well? What distributions have they recommended me?

I’m an openSUSE user and have been impressed with it for a while, but was openSUSE my number one recommended choice? No…

Well, here are my results.

1. Ubuntu Linux
2. Fedora
3. Debian GNU/Linux
4. openSUSE
5. Mandriva Linux

I got the same results and the same order form both of the choosers. But zegenie just didn’t put Debian on the list.

This is interesting. Fedora and Debian are the only distributions I haven’t actually tried thoroughly. I’ll have to check them out!

Try this yourslef! It’s fun!

3 Responses to Choosing your linux

  1. LinuxLover says:

    What a scam… There are hundreds of Linux distros out there, and it seems to only choose the same few, but in different orders.

    IMO, people should start with distros like OpenSUSE, Mandriva, or PCLinuxOS and, once they can get around a bit, move to Ubuntu, Linux Mint, Fedora…and eventually Debian or even Gentoo. No one in their right mind should try Debian or Fedora for their first distro. Likewise, Ubuntu is a solid distro, but beginners should steer clear.

    Then, once they’ve done the distro-hop, they can go back to whatever suits them, or even run multiple distros via a multi-boot or virtualization software like Virtualbox or VMWare.

  2. Ana says:

    My first distro was the regular SuSe way back in 2004 or so. Since then I’ve tried Mandriva, openSuSe, FreeBSD, Xubuntu…I knew I was ready for Debian and Gentoo when I made it through all the Slackware installs on command line. I took the test and got Fedora as my result, and I happen to be running Fedora 9 right now, so it’s anti-climactic. Maybe they should have a ‘What obscure distro should you get?’ quiz.

  3. linuxcanuck says:

    The results were accurate for me and I have tried just about everything.

    I disagree totally with LinuxLover. OpenSUSE is not for newbies. It is too easy to break. Their resolving dependency dialogues are way beyond anything a newbie can handle. They are more likely to do damage than resolve any conflicts, IMO. Mandriva and Ubuntu are on par as intermediate ones, but LinuxMint is a newbie distro if ever there was one. I would also add SimplyMEPIS as a newbie friendly distro. Fedora is not newbie friendly at all. It is for intermediate users as is Debian.

    PCLOS is a good distro for newbies, but its repositories are lacking and frequently stale. If you install PCLOS 2007, be prepared for mega updates. When 2008 is ready then it will already be old. Mandriva, SUSE, Fedora and Ubuntu are already working on 2009.

    I tend to disagree with much of what is on the Distribution Comparer. It is far from scientific and flies in the face of other evidence and my own experience. For example it lists Ubuntu’s repositories as 10 000, but Wikipedia lists it at 23 000 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_Linux_distributions). My own experience is that I can find lots of things unavailable in Mandriva and OpenSUSE, but have never found anything that I could not install in Ubuntu. In addition to its own repositories it has Click’n’Run and Getdeb.net. Basically you can run anything in Ubuntu and Debian. There seems to be a bias toward RPM based distros that I do not understand.

    RPM can’t hold a candle to DEB. I started in Mandrake many years ago and used Fedora, before discovering DEBs. I used RPM for years in ignorance. Since moving to Debian based distros my life has been easy in comparison. When RPM breaks you are pooched. When apt breaks you can usually fix it quite simply. I can break any RPM distro still simply by installing lots. It is just a matter of time before it breaks and in my experience the whole system can become unstable and unbootable. Last RPM distro I tried was Fedora 10 and Mandriva 2008. It is getting better, but that does not make it good. If you don’t install much then RPM is fine, but if you want the works then forget it.

Leave a Reply

